Got my surgery date! ... but I'm struggling with anxiety, and this clear liquid it ain't helpin'

Tricie89
on 10/9/16 5:17 pm

Hey!

I'm new to obesity help and the wls community as a whole. It was only a short time ago (after a long time of considering) that I decided WLS was for me. 

So let me give a bit of info about myself. My name is Tricie, I'm 27 years old, and I don't remember a time in my life when weight wasn't an issue. I've struggled through elementary, through middle school, high school, college, all the way until now, and I've gotten to the point where I know that something needs to be done. I've tried everything, diets, pills, starving myself, I even struggled with an eating disorder for a long time in my early twenties. I lost the most weight then, but upon getting better I gain a significant amount of weight. My highest weight was 465 lbs. I'm now 433 lbs, and I've just started my clear liquid diet, and my surgery is in 9 days. 

While I am incredibly excited to begin my journey, I find that I've been experiencing a lot of distress lately. I'm nervous about the surgery, which is normal I know, but my usual way of dealing with such stress is snacking .... sigh , yes, I stress eat. Which makes being on this clear liquid diet for the next 10 days TORTURE. I'm hungry, and on top of that, I'm stressed.

My question for anyone who has been through this is ... How the heck did you make it through your liquid diet?? I'm only on day one, and I'm already freaking out. It's depressing, because I was hoping I'd be stronger than this. I haven't messed up or anything, I just ... I don't really feel like I can make it on only liquids, and it sucks, because I really want this, but I keep asking myself why I'm putting myself through all of this when there is a huge possibility that I may fail ...

But yes ... I hope this all makes sense. I'm all jumbled up in the head right now. I'm sorry that my first post on here is so depressing. : )