Feel overwhelmed with weight gain

krisbrick
on 9/18/16 7:55 am

I had VGS in Feb 2015. Highest weight was 268, got down to 185. Since March of this year I have totally been off track and have allowed all my bad habits back into my life. I have actually put on 20 pounds and feel miserable. Has anyone been in this same situation and resversed the damage? Feel like a complete idiot for not using my tool I was blessed with. Any advice would be appreciated, thank you

Pre surgery weight 268lb, lowest weight 185lb current weight 204lb. Trying to get back on track! 

cappy11448
on 9/18/16 8:16 am

Maintenance is tough.  I actually think its harder than weight loss because in weight loss you get the encouragement of watching the number go down on the scale.  In maintenance, success is not so easy to visualize. 

I've been maintaining for about 2 years now, and the most I've gained is about 10 pounds and this was while traveling.  I did lose the weight again, but it was a lot of effort, and since, I've tried to jump back into weight loss mode whenever I am 5 pounds over. 

To get back on track, I first need to cut out carbs.  Carbs are inevitably the cause of my weight gain, and it takes a huge effort to convince myself that I have to give them up.  The second step is to cook lots of tasty and healthy meals so I can always have something I enjoy.  This helps me resist the forbidden and high calorie foods. 

I find that weighing, measuring and tracking my food also helps.  But its mostly about breaking the carb addiction, having lots of healthy foods around, and the rugged determination to keep to my food plan.  I NEVER want to be obese again. 

I wish you the best - you can do this.

Carol

Surgery May 1, 2013. Starting Weight 385,  Surgery Weight 333,  Current Weight 160.  At GOAL!

Weight loss Pre-op 1-20 2-17 3-15 Post-op 1-20 2-18 3-15 4-14 5-16 6-11 7-12  8-8

9-11 10-7 11-7 12-7 13-8 14-6 15-3 16-7 17-3  18-3

Gwen M.
on 9/18/16 8:24 am
VSG on 03/13/14