The Struggle is Real! I am Super Newbie

Zaftig2Svelte
on 8/13/16 7:56 pm
VSG on 07/26/16

Hello, newbie here and thanking the almighty that OH exists! Okay wow! VSG completed on 7/26/2016.  Surgery went well.  Had the usual pain and gas.  Walked it out.  Had trouble the 2nd night with getting liquids in too tight and internal swelling prevented me from drinking. Had the foamies and the clear liquids just sat until I was given anti nausea and pepcid. Since home progress has been slow but steady. Still feeling pain on the right side, especially when sitting upright.  Standing and laying down feel okay.  Eating is a CHORE! I measure out everything 2oz-4oz depending on protein and density.  For instance, protein shakes, blenderized soups 4oz go down okay, refried beans 2oz take work.  I can take a couple of bites and whoa really, really full. I'm using a baby spoon and chewing at least 30x and timing rests between spoonfuls.  There is an app on my iphone under bariatric timers.  Since I started using it I am a little more comfortable.  Sitting at the table feels tight on the right side of my abdomen and starts to muscle cramp if I don't stretch. This pain wraps around to my back.  Anyone experience this??? I'm almost 3 weeks out. OH has been super helpful thus far. I've picked up so much useful information by reading previous threads---especially ones regarding under eating my sleeve.  I stalled for about a week and started to freak out  until the scale moved almost 5lbs down today.  I was like, okay I'm barely eating so what is going on?  I read on one of the forums that your body needs protein to burn the fat.  So I made sure to get more protein in and then the next day boom there it is.  Taking it one day at a time!!!

Best,

Zaftig2Svelte 

alemap67
on 8/14/16 6:54 am
VBG on 08/05/16