So much reflux my voice is hoarse

PS0705
on 8/8/16 11:09 am
VSG on 08/04/16

I just had surgery 8/4/16 so this is all new.  I had occasional reflux before surgery and no problems with it (that I could tell) immediately after surgery and my voice was normal until yesterday (3 days post-op).

Reflux set in yesterday and so did a high tight hoarse voice.  I am starting on pepcid per my doctor today.

Anyone else have this issue?  What helped? What made it worse?

I'm a speech teacher and NEED my voice 

Thanks!

P

* This is cross posted from the general board.  Hoping someone here can help.

Anita
on 8/8/16 2:11 pm

are you drinking water or something else? I find that Diet Snapple or Crystal Light give me terrible reflux when I lie down / sleep. Also, are you sleeping on your right side? That caused me problems too.

I had a hiatal hernia repair when I had my surgery so the doctor has me on Nexium for the first 3 months.....so far, so good except for the day I drank too much diet peach Snapple.

good luck....I hope this clears up for you soon and that everything goes back to normal.

Good friends are like stars. 
You don't always see them but you always know they're there. 

PS0705
on 8/8/16 3:42 pm
VSG on 08/04/16

Thanks for the response Anita :)

I just drink water and it has to room temperature right now or it hurts for some reason. I'm a plain eater and drinker - I don't add anything to my drinks or food.

I'll try sleeping on my left side - currently I'm all over the place tossing and turning.

Thank you for the suggestions - I really appreciate it!!

P

Anita
on 8/8/16 5:51 pm

Try some ho****er......like a chamomile tea before bed time....peppermint also helps me. I'm all over at night too, but as long as I don't sleep on my right side all night, I'm okay.

Did your doctor tell you to take Pepcid or was that your choice? I find that the best option for me is Nexium.

Anita
on 8/8/16 5:52 pm