How you overcame your fear of surgery?

Kudzu
on 7/13/16 4:16 pm
VSG on 07/28/16

I wish I could do or say something to reassure you. All I can share is that I'm going through the same gamut of emotions. My sx is scheduled for July 28 - I'm 2 weeks away. I've cried, considered calling my surgeon's office and say "just kidding, let's not do this after all" (not really). I have had a few surgeries on the past; including 2 C-sections as well as my gallbladder removed, so I am not a novice to surgery. But I think now, "I was so young back then and a whole lot thinner. What if my terribly out of shape, morbidly obese self interferes and things don't go as smooth as my previous abdominal surgeries." My surgeon said that I could compare it to my gallbladder surgery; which was a piece of cake. I was sweeping my kitchen floor the day after I came home (not a smart thing, but I was young and not as wise). Today has been a better day for me. It has been a "practice" liquid day. I only have to do that 7 days before my surgery. BUT I have hurt so bad today. My joints and my muscles scream a lot, so I am putting that in the front of my mind that this pain I endure will be so much better in the months to come. I've also been reading the success stories here and tips. I went and bought myself cute baby spoons today. I've also been getting scales and other things I will need (amazon prime is too convenient!). But hang in there. We can and will do this. 

ubserved
on 7/14/16 12:01 am