My Team Expects an 18 Pound A Month Weight Loss Is that A Normal Expectation of Me?

malouser
on 7/4/16 8:48 pm
VSG on 06/09/16

Hi Fellow Sleevers: I am a newbie. Just had VSG on the 9th of June. I am following the Pureed stage eating no more than 4 oz of food per meal yet the scale is not moving much. I hiked 8 miles last week. I am pretty active just want to know if 18 pounds a month is a reasonable goal. I am currently at 249. Lost 9 pounds the first 2 weeks so first visit weighed in at 254. I do not think I will be at an additional 9 pound weightloss on Thurs the 7th. Any suggestions???   

LeapSecond
on 7/5/16 8:39 am - AR

Try to eat according to plan and try not to focus on the scales.   The weight will come off.  The team may be looking at what the average out of a 100 did.  We are all different.  Hang in there it will come off.

HW=362(6/14) SW=314(9/14) GW=195 CW=270 (1-26-2020)

Bufflehead
on 7/5/16 8:50 am - TN
VSG on 06/19/13

No, I don't think that's a reasonable goal. I don't think any goal as measured by losing x pounds per month is a reasonable goal. IMO your goals should be:

--hitting your targets for calories, carbs, and protein (you mention eating 4 ounces of food, but what kind of food? 4 ounces of Lucky Charms vs. 4 ounces of mac n cheese vs. 4 ounces of chicken breast . . . all will give you different results.).

--sticking to your eating plan as prescribed by your bariatric team

--exercising regularly

--managing your stress levels and getting enough sleep