New to this...

caduplantis
on 7/4/16 12:31 pm

I am a 37-year-old male, and I weigh 425lbs at 5'4.  Recently my state approved a Medicaid expansion program, and since I am a graduate student, and not working, I qualify.  After hundreds of phone calls, I found a surgeon that will take Medicaid in my state!!!!  

I was mailed a packet including a checklist of things to do prior to being seen.  The nurse said it will take at least 6 months to complete all the items.  He requires 6 months of documented medically supervised weight loss, a psych evaluation, cardiac clearance, and a few other things.  However, I have been seeing the same doctor for years, and she has been documenting my weight issues for years.  Since this is already documented, I have cut down my 6-month checklist to barely a month.

I am seeing my doctor tomorrow to review my chart to ensure the charting includes what is needed per the checklist.  Wednesday I see the Cardiologist for clearance, along with my PFT and ABG.  The only big thing is to have the psych evaluation.  I will do this within the next week!!!!  

I am so excited to be able to get things moving quickly.  If all goes well, I could be scheduling my surgery within the month.

Any advice??? 

malouser
on 7/4/16 12:58 pm
VSG on 06/09/16

I am very happy for you! One thing, everything is going so quickly that I am including some pre-surgery advice for you.

1)stop all soda now if you have not already. Start drinking a lot of ice water now. I love water with lemon juice. I drink it constantly.

2}Bring chapstick to the hospital-really helps

3) Get a Nutribullet or good blender for post surgery food prep.

4) Slow down eating now to help with your post op transition. Takes about 20 mins to eat just 4 oz of food. Get a timer for a good tool in helping to make sure you are not eating too quickly. You can get one at any Dollar Store.

5) Start walking now. A couple times a day do some walking you will be doing a lot of that after surgery.