Carbohydrates

kdaniel414
on 4/20/16 3:50 pm

I just started my journey and this is my first time posting a question. 

I had my initial consultation on April 7th with a nutritionist, insurance coordinator, and doctor.  Per my insurance, I have to be under a supervised physician diet for 6 months before they will approve surgery.  I was given a general diet plan.  Naturally to fill my plate with veggies and a palm size portion of protein.  My problem is, I am a carbohydrate addict.  Every meal has some sort of carb.  I am trying, but I am failing miserably.  I'm scared that I won't be able to stay away from carbs once I have my surgery.  Anyone else out there that is a carb addict that had the surgery?  What helped you?

Thanks-

Kim

luvmypuggies
on 4/20/16 6:25 pm

Welcome!  Lots of carb addicts here!  I'm definitely one.  There is no magic pill for this unfortunately, but the good news is that if you can white-knuckle it for a few days and be seriously low-carb (no cheating), then the cravings really truly do diminish to tolerable levels.  Sugar-free stuff helps on the carbs-per-day count, but it probably won't help craving-wise if you have a sweet tooth.

Get all of it out of the house because we all know how crazy we get when the craving****!! :)

hollykim
on 4/20/16 7:57 pm - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15
On April 20, 2016 at 10:50 PM Pacific Time, kdaniel414 wrote:

I just started my journey and this is my first time posting a question.