Introduction and VSG questions

Phacops
on 4/20/16 12:54 am

Hi everyone!

This is my first post so I would like to begin by thanking you all for this useful forum. I have been researching it for a few months now and I have learnt a lot about the different WLS and what to expect post op as well as the diet and lifestyle changes I will have to make should I decide to go down the surgery path. First of all I feel I need to explain my case. I am 36 years old, I weight 242 pounds and my height is almost 6 foot. That gives me a BMI of 33. Like many of the people on this forum I have been battling with my weight for the last 20 years or so. I have tried almost every diet out there (Palaeo, Juicing, Atkins, HCG, Low Carbs, nutritionists, personal trainers, etc...) and I have always been very successful at losing my excess weight. The problem is that it always comes back as soon as I stop being super careful with my food intake. I am a fairly active person as I cycle to work everyday for a total of 1h plus I exercise at the gym once or twice a week depending on my schedule. However, exercise seems to be a small contribution to my weight loss, with the food being the major impact. My relationship with food is difficult to describe. I can sometimes be very strict with myself and then shift to periods where I really don't care and I'll eat anything that is available. I feel I am more hungry than most people around me and I can eat large quantities of rich foods in one sitting with no problem. I guess I am a bit of an emotional eater as well.