CPAP and VSG the night of the surgery

DeaconBluz
on 4/19/16 4:25 pm
VSG on 04/18/16

Hello all. I searched the forums and all the posts were several years old, so I thought I would bring it up again.

My question is did your doctor let you use your CPAP machine the night of you stay in the hospital? Mine says no CPAP the night in the hospital, but I looked at posts as far back as 2009 and their doctors let them use their CPAP machines the night in the hospital. My doctors excuse is that it could cause leaks. He says that I can use it the next night though (I don't understand this, as I am an engineer and I look at things a little differently). Also, I have the tendency to choke without a machine, so I am not looking forward to staying awake all night right after my surgery. If you use a CPAP were you allowed to use your CPAP machine? 

Please chime in. 

I have been using CPAP machines for about 15 years, kind of wed to it for any kind of sleep, even naps. My last weight gain was the result of the machine not being set right. Now I have one of those new adaptive machines and I do not have any issues.

Eventually I wouldn't mind ditching my machine but I can live with it for now.

DeaconBluz
on 4/19/16 4:29 pm
VSG on 04/18/16

One more thing, there are only 2 doctor groups that do this type of surgery in town. Is the surgeon a little behind the times as far as what is currently acceptable?

pdxwoman
on 4/19/16 4:34 pm
VSG on 03/21/16

My doctor insisted that I bring my CPAP into the hospital. I took it..

tdelson
on 4/19/16 4:35 pm
VSG on 10/12/15

Mine had me bring it and said to use it. The hospital had to check it out first. However the surgery was about 2 PM and I was prettu knocked out until about 9 PM when I woke up. I was still a little groggy and dozed off forgetting to have the machine hooked up. I was out all night, except for the blood pressure and normal checks during the night. 

seabexlose
on 4/19/16 5:03 pm, edited 4/19/16 10:04 am