Newbie Here

Laura in Texas
on 4/16/16 6:59 am

Dee!! Hi, stranger!! So glad to see you posting again!! 

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

Smallbites2015
on 4/9/16 8:37 pm

Welcome!!!  This is a great place to come.  They lived it now I'm living it.   Yup binged, yup was on medication a while back but off for several years.  

Liquid diet wasnt ant horrible and it was over so quick no biggie.  I craved pickle juice and olives pretty bad though.  Drank it and pretty miserable. 

Short term discomfort and now into my long term satisfaction.  Trying to get used to my newer body, but it has been a ride.  So glad I took the step to happier healthier me.  I'm in my 40s and I knew if I didn't get it together, this slippery slope would kill me early.

congratulations and hang in there.

Jenb1202
on 4/13/16 10:50 am

Wow!  Congratulations on your loss - that's so encouraging!

cappy11448
on 4/10/16 5:09 am

Welcome to the forum. I hope you find it as supportive and informative as I have.

I had my surgery at 63, and I weighed 385 pounds at my top weight.  I would have been happy just to be under 300 pounds again and I never thought I'd get below 200 pounds.  But I did.  I lost 98% of my excess body weight and I now weigh 162 with a BMI of 24. 

This surgery really works.  It makes the weight loss possible -- not easy, but possible.  I also want to emphasize that it takes diligence to succeed.  WLS is a tool for managing obesity.  It is not a cure.  We will be managing our obesity for the rest of our lives, but the sleeve makes it possible to succeed.