Newbie Here

Jenb1202
on 4/9/16 5:21 pm

I wrote a bunch about myself in the "About Me" section of my profile.  I jumped through my final hoop Thursday with my endoscopy and have VSG scheduled for 4/26/16.  My highest weight was 326; my weight at my first bariatric appointment was 307; my weight this past weekend was 284.  I'm drinking at least one protein shake most days and have returned to riding my exercise bike (recumbent).  I have arthritis, fibromyalgia, severe GERD, hypertension, high cholesterol, as well as a number of co-morbid conditions.

Being 44 and on disability for depression, I'm scared that my metabolism has been slowed down so much by my age and medications that I will lose far less weight than I could otherwise.  How about other 40-somethings?  Has age played a role in your weight loss?  Are there any other women in this age group who have been taking meds and continued on them during their weight-loss process?  It feels like the (IM)perfect storm.

I'm both excited and terrified about the journey I'm embarking on.  I start my all-liquid diet on Tuesday and am trying to fit in some of my favorite foods before then.  Did anyone else go on this "binge" (for lack of a better word) to fit in the foods they may not eat again?

I was introduced to this site yesterday when I had my endoscopy and one of my nurses had WLS, losing 170 lbs with her highest weight being in the mid 300s.  I'm hoping to find some support here and hopefully offer some, too!

kippertoo
on 4/9/16 6:12 pm

Wow, you're off to a great start!  Congrats on your weight loss thus far!  I had my sleeve last Sept. and I'm 54.  I had high cholesterol, high blood pressure, GERD, and depression, too. I was on prescription drugs for all of the above, and now I'm not takings any!!!  There's a lot of freedom and relief that comes with that...it's awesome.