Secret Ingredients (main idea) wiith a smidge about the Instant Pot for those who...

happyteacher
on 4/3/16 2:39 pm

I am once again becoming a bit bored with my meals, mostly because recently cooking has not been an option so I rely on what others are willing to prep or microwave a previously frozen version of my regular stuff. Decided that I was going to try a new "secret ingredient" once every couple of weeks to change things up. Mind you, I am a self-proclaimed non cook. Sure, I can put a meal on the table for my family, but the clever nuances of eloquenty balancing spices and textures is well beyond my skill level. So this is both a challenge and a way to kick-start some novelty in my diet. My first attempt- something called "harissa". It is a Tunesian (according to the Internet and you know everything you read online is true, right?) tomatoe paste stuff that has chilis as part of the base and a lot of seasoning like coriander, garlic and others that I just forgot. You squirt it out of a tube, and you can put the lid back on and pop it in the refridgerator. It seemed perfect- a little sploosh of flavor that already had seasonings balanced. I ended up also buying a dry spice (powder) version too- no clue how it is different yet, as I didn't read the ingredient list. Anyway, I had a hankering for Karik's gousash soup, but am not quite well enough to properlly brown the meat and such. My solution- use my mystery ingredient and simplify his recipe. It actually didn't turn out anything like this goulash soup.

How about you- do you have a favorite mystery ingredient you could suggest or perhaps are just curious about? The soup by the way turned out fantastic, but caution- this Harissa stuff is SPICY. I love me some heat, but for those with gentler palates a little goes a looooong way! Here is my non-recipe for what I made with the IP for those that "use". You can easily decarb this for our low carb friends: