Hello from a Newbie :) VSG is my plan...

Terry G.
on 3/18/16 6:18 am

I just want to send a quick "hello" to the other guys on here.  I'm new to the WLS idea, but after doing a good bit of research and discussion with friend's who've had it, and at least one doctor, I've decided to move forward with the Vertical Sleeve procedure.

I'm 37 years old and have been overweight most of my life.  Like many of you, I've tried every diet out there, and then some.  My weight has slowly crept up and now I'm at my heaviest - around 375 pounds.  I'm 6'2" with a broad build, so when I tell someone (very few actually) how much I weight, they never can believe it - but it's true.  My scale, mirror, and size 52 pants (thank you expandable waists) don't lie.

I've finally reached a point where I'm tired of being tired.  I'm tired of shopping online for clothes.  I'm tired of worrying if I'll fit in a chair - or God forbid, if it will hold me.  I'm tired of traveling and carrying a seatbelt extender on a plane (I bought one) and praying that I get a skinny person next to me (or no one at all, please).  I'm tired of getting winded climbing stairs, not participating in outdoor activities, and being lethargic.

I met with one local surgeon, the go-to-guy around here, a few weeks ago.  He's supposedly the best, but he wasn't very personable or likable.  He started talking politics and asked me who I was voting for.  I casually avoided the question because before I could answer, he was talking all pro-Trump and how everyone else will destroy the country.  Don't get me wrong, you can vote for whomever you want, but don't talk to me about it in an exam room when we're discussing my life-changing procedure.