Brand new, please help! TIA

VSGJourney
on 3/2/16 5:52 pm

Hi! I am brand new to OH. I'm in the process of preparing for VSG and would love to hear about real life after VSG? Does anyone have experience with IBS/Colitis before VSG? Did VSG help or hurt your symptoms? Are you able to feel normal again in a social dinner setting? Are there things you can never eat again? Thanks in advance! I am a nervous wreck and would love any information!  The good and the bad  I am a planner and it's so hard for me to not know what's coming!

Nick S.
on 3/2/16 8:59 pm, edited 3/2/16 1:05 pm - Detroit, MI
VSG on 12/22/15

Hey, welcome! The first thing I'll say is deciding to have the VSG was one of the best decisions I've ever made. It's given me a new lease on life, my family is healthier as a result and it's inspired those around me to make changes in their lives as well.

Real life after surgery: It took me about 2 months after surgery to feel "back to normal". My scars were all healed up, I was through all the liquid diet stuff and back eating solid foods according to my new diet plan. You learn to find a "new normal" in your day to day life. I replaced my old bad eating habits with good ones. I have to take a multivitamin and a fiber supplement each day to round out my diet since I can't take it all in from what I'm able to eat. I work out now instead of sitting on the couch doing nothing. I take the stairs instead of the elevator, park at the farthest spot out in the parking lot rather than the closest, etc. The excellent thing is that a VSG removes the part of your stomach that produces the hunger hormone Ghrelin, so I NEVER get the sensation of feeling hunger. Although I do get the sensation of feeling full. Otherwise life is mostly unchanged.