Yes, another question on diet soda.

animallover1247
on 11/30/15 7:22 pm

Can anyone give me any suggestions on how to quit the diet soda?? And for those who have quit, what was the experience like? Was it difficult, easier than expected? I should be having my surgery mid to lat January and I haven't stopped. In fact, knowing I have to stop this next month I've been drinking more. I've been drinking diet soda for 20 plus years, wondering how I am going to give it up but I AM going to give it up! I have no choice! 

Neesie57
on 11/30/15 7:47 pm
VSG on 08/04/15

I had been drinking diet sodas for more than 45 years and gave them up to have the surgery.  The best way is cold turkey, because you will HAVE to stay away from them after surgery, unless you want to feel the pain of the bubbles in your belly.  Just don't buy them, don't drink them, because you will be forced to do so very soon.

5' 5" tall. VSG on August 4, 2015/ Starting weight 239.9/ Surgery weight 210.9/ Current weight 137.4/ Goal weight 140/ No longer overweight, now a NORMAL weight. Now that I'm at goal, it's time to move on to maintenance!!!!!!!!

rocky513
on 11/30/15 7:56 pm - WI

The bigger question is, why are you giving diet soda so much power over you?  It's just diet soda.  If you want to succeed at WLS then you have to get control over your food addiction.  If you give food so much power that it wins the battle and you give in to it, you will not be a successful WLS patient.

It does not matter if it is "harder or easier than expected" to quit.  It has to be done, so just do it. You need to make the commitment today and then STICK TO IT!   There will be a lot of temptations on your weight loss journey.  You can't let food dictate your actions.  You need to get your head in the right place.  You are in control of what you put in your mouth.  That diet soda has no control over you.