Excessive weight loss during first week?

Autum1031
on 11/21/15 9:44 am

I'm a newbie here, this is my first post.

I'm mildly freaking out by the number on my scale, trying to find out if others experienced the same.

I had surgery just Monday, on 11/16. Morning of surgery, I weighed in at 287.  I left the hospital at 290 (all the fluids).  So you can image my shock when my scale today read 269.8!   Yesterday I was 274, and the day before, 278. (Though I'm not sure where those 17 pounds went, since my too-tight pants before surgery are still too-tight!)

My office did not require me to lose any weight before surgery, nor did I have to do the 2 week liquid pre-diet, I just ate normally.  I did lose about 13 pounds before surgery, but that was over the course of 5 months.

I'm not pleased by this number, I'm alarmed, as I expected this number after a MONTH not a week.

Had a check-in call with my nurse on Friday, nutritionally I seem to be doing well.  I'm getting 40-45 oz liquid, about 40 g of protein, which she said was "very good for this early stage."   She didn't ask about calories and said I shouldn't worry about them during the liquid stage, but I know I'm only getting about 200-300 calories per day.

Physically, I feel like crap.  Utter, draining fatigue.  Doing a few laps around the house is all I can muster.  After I took my shower today, I had to lay down for 10 minutes to rest.  I've never felt so utterly drained and weak in my life.  I would even say I felt worse today than yesterday, I was very lightheaded and weak when I woke up.

I have another follow up call on Monday with my doctor's office, but as I said, I'm kind of freaking out now. Should I not be concerned about such a drastic drop?  As for energy, maybe it's low blood sugar, but how do I combat that since we're not supposed to have any sugar?  Did anyone else worry about calories during that first two weeks?

Advice welcome!

cappy11448
on 11/21/15 10:28 am