Pre-VSG Questions

Tired_of_Weighting
on 10/21/15 8:57 pm

Monday is the day! Mixed emotions here! However, I have a few questions...

1) How many incisions did you get with your VSG surgery?

2) I was prescribed 5 meds. One of them is a shot I have to administer beginning the night before surgery and continue for 2 weeks after. It is a type of blood thinner that will ensure I do not have any blood clots. Is this normal?

3) How long were you off work after the surgery? How did you feel. I'm a PK teacher and am on my feet all day and active so my surgeon suggests two weeks.

4) Last, how many days did you have to be in the hospital after the VSG? My doctor is saying two days!!!

Thanks in advance for your help! :)

(deactivated member)
on 10/21/15 9:18 pm
VSG on 07/27/15

First off, Congratulations on your upcoming surgery :) Don't stress too much. You will be fine :)

I had 6 incisions, most of them teeny tiny, with just one that is about an inch long on my left side where they took my stomach out.

Some people also have to have a drain, but I did not.

I was not on any medications, and didn't have to give myself any shots beforehand, but they did give me a shot of the blood thinner a couple times while i was in the hospital.

I was in the hospital for 2 nights.

Was up and walking right away, but still had quite a bit of pain on my lower left side for a couple weeks after, but the more I walked, the better it felt.

I do not work, so I really can't tell ya how long you may need to take off, but I would follow your surgeon's recommendations. :)

Hope that helps! Congrats again :)

mickeymantle
on 10/21/15 10:25 pm - Eugene/Springfield, OR
VSG on 07/22/13

I had 5 holes , how some surgeons use 1

I had to take blood thinners for a full month because of a clotting problem I have(lupus anticoagulant antigen) a few weeks is normal , the shots are better than a clot

at least 2 weeks off from work