Give me your input on sleeve gastrectomy!

jenny_733
on 10/20/15 6:20 pm

I want to have a sleeve gastrectomy. I have thought about it for over 2 years and even went to an info. session with the surgeon I would use. I am 43, 5'7", 245#. I have high blood pressure, sleep apnea, and am pre diabetic. I feel horrible and long for the times when I was thin and had energy. It is such a double-edged sword... you are tired and need energy, but can't muster it up in order to do what I need to do. I feel like I need support as I waiver on whether I should have this surgery or not. I am a nurse and the older I get, the more I am concerned about the health effects of my obesity. My mom was just diagnosed with diabetes (age 70), has high blood pressure and high cholesterol. With a Hgb A1C of 5.8%, I will be diabetic by the time I am 45, not 70 like my mom.

I know I have my mom's support, but need to quit worrying about what other people will think. Also, being a nurse (ER and PACU), I know the possible complications that I could have and that scares me too.

Anyone feel like this, actually do the surgery and have any regrets? I want to hear the good, bad and the ugly!

mickeymantle
on 10/20/15 10:13 pm - Eugene/Springfield, OR
VSG on 07/22/13

I lost 150 lb , almost never hungry , off all my diabetes meds my blood pressure meds are at the minimum dose to protect my kidneys

more energy than ive had in decades , my a1c stated at 7.5 and now is 5.6 with no meds

175 lb  lost,412 hw 336sw,241 cw surgery July 22 2013,surgeon Dr Colin MacColl,

porue
on 10/21/15 12:26 am

Hi. I am new to this forum and Web site. I saw your story and questions and I really wanted to shed some light on the sleeve and give it to straight...the good the bad and the ugly.