Time off work?

animallover1247
on 10/11/15 12:58 pm

I just wanted to know how long others took off work after their surgery? I need to go back ASAP!

MelissaKay_69
on 10/11/15 3:51 pm

I had my surgery on September 22 and took 4 weeks off. One more week before I go back. I'm a pharmacy technician and on my feet 8-10 hours a day. It's a pretty physical job most days. I mainly too 4 weeks working on my diet as I transition back to regular foods. I know most people don't take this much time off.

(deactivated member)
on 10/11/15 4:15 pm
RNY on 05/04/15

My husband and I each took 3 weeks off for our surgeries (VSG for him, RNY for me). But we both could have easily gone back after 2. A friend of mine had horrible nausea after her VSG though and came back to work after 4 weeks, but she still felt pretty sick for the next few months.

J Connel
on 10/11/15 5:04 pm
VSG on 04/13/15

I had surgery on a Monday, came home from the hospital on Tuesday and was back at work the next week on Monday. I basically was off only 1 week total. I was bored being home and felt good enough to return. Just having some normalcy was important to me. I was off pain meds before I left the hospital and was driving myself to a hair appt the day after I was home. Now...I have a desk job. If you have a more labor intensive job, you would need more time off.

JC

JC 5'3" HW: 283.2 SW: 224.6 CW: 140.0  M1: -20.0 M2: -10.2 M3: -13.6 M4: -6.4 M5: -7.2 M6: -7.8 M7: -6.2  M8: -5.8 M9: -2.2 M10: -5

GOAL WEIGHT ACHIEVED 2/2/16 

Follow my blog at: www.sleeveforme2014.wordpress.com

Billy D.
on 10/11/15 6:03 pm

I am 4 days out and feel pretty good just a little sore. I start back tomorrow. If your job is physical labor you might want to wait. Everybody is different. I'd get at least a week out, I actually scheduled two weeks but since I feel so good I decided to return a week earlier. Good luck! Billy

(deactivated member)
on 10/12/15 4:16 am
VSG on 08/15/15 with