Newbie..upcoming consult

Tink3125
on 9/14/15 5:28 pm
VSG on 12/01/15

Hello from TN,

I am a newbie to the forum, THANK Heavens I found this site!! I have struggled with the decision to have WLS. My insurance excludes covering it so I am having to pay out of pocket. I know this will be the best decision I could make for my life at this time, but I am nervous, scared, excited all at the same time. The information on here helped me make the decision on the sleeve.  I have my consult with the dr on 9/30 and it should be only a couple of weeks after that for the surgery since I'm self pay.  I started today drinking protein shakes for breakfast and lunch and will transition to only shakes up the closer I get to surgery. I look forward to reading more posts and learning as much as I can.

I am struggling with the decision to let family and friends know that I am having the surgery. Husband is the only one that knows at this time. Has anyone else had this struggle?

Keep on keeping on!!!

akanikkie
on 9/14/15 7:20 pm
VSG on 04/27/15

Hi from Nashville!  You will definitely learn a lot on here.  My vote about letting friends and family know is that it really is an individual decision.  I let people know who have been on the decision journey with me for several years.  I really haven't made a public declaration (on social media or at work, for example).  You will know when the time is right for you.

Wishing you the best!

HW: 448; SW: 376; CW: 321

Sasha2014
on 9/14/15 7:23 pm
VSG on 09/21/15

I am proud of my decision , I am more open about sharing but some people don't tell at all!

This is a great website and tool!

If I had to self pay I would still do it!!

CONGRATS!!!!!

Amy_Rod618
on 9/15/15 5:52 pm
VSG on 02/08/16