Feeling a mess, depression?

Journey2be
on 8/20/15 8:02 pm

So the last 6 wks or so I've been feeling like I'm constantly PMS-ing. (Quickly irritated, very impatient, easily angered, emotional, very negative and just kinda want to be left alone). This is so not like me. I'm very happy, kind, uplifting, encouraging and a very positive person usually. I hate feeling this way. I've made an appt with my primary dr for next week. Thinking maybe I need an antidepressant for a little while or labs drawn? My cycles are a little lengthy since surgery maybe I have a hormonal imbalance? Maybe my labs are off? Could someone recommend what supplements they take daily? I've been doing a flintstones chewable complete with iron (recommended by surgeon and nutritionist postop) and celebrate chewable calciums. I can't handle big pills but wondering if I'm not getting what I need. Any advice? Is this part of the package?

HW: 265, surgery wt 245, post op wt 254.  VSG: 3/3/15

rocky513
on 8/20/15 8:30 pm - WI

Flintsones are NOT complete even if is says so on the label. they do not contain LOTS of vitamins and minerals that adults require. I don't take chewable vitamins and I never have so I can't help you there.  

The overactive hormones are normal.  It's called hormone dumping.  Your fat cells store estrogen.  When you lose weight, rapidly, the estrogen gets flushed into your blood stream, creating all kinds of havoc.  It levels off as your weight loss slows.

HW 270 SW 236 GW 160 CW 145 (15 pounds below goal!)

VBG Aug. 7, 1986, Revised to RNY Nov. 18, 2010

cappy11448
on 8/21/15 2:36 am

Hi,

I also had a lot of issues with emotions for a while after surgery.  I think it is the hormones being released as the fat is being burned, as a previous poster said.  I don't think it has anything to do with the vitamins.  I suspect your program will monitor your blood work and let you know if you need to change your regimen, so I'd continue as your program suggests.