Honoring Yourself

(deactivated member)
on 6/1/15 1:50 pm

Summer is almost here. Being a teacher I have a guaranteed vacation of just over 6 weeks each summer. Normally, I spend most of my summer doing for others. I go to the east coast to help my aunt out each year, I drive down south to help some other friends with their kennel, and catch up doing work for a number of my clients. It has not been my habit to use those weeks to rest and do for myself.

This year I have decided that will not be the case. My old aunt now has live in help. I don’t HAVE to go, so I’m not going to. (I’ve gone every year for 18 years, so I get a break, right?) I also decided not to work in the kennel as my friends are now up and running and have hired people to help them, and I have placed a limit on client work.

I am going to focus on me. Putting myself first has been an issue for many years. I don’t do it very well, at all. I have put a plan in place to help me to just that this coming summer. I am calling it The Summer of Me plan.

I am looking forward to The Summer of Me. To make it happen I have done a few things. I have placed limits on the number of clients I will work with each week and I will only see 1 client per day. I am promising to see at least 4 movies and read at least the same number of books. I have plotted out my gym time for the entire summer, an activity I love and have been neglecting, and I have created SMART goals for my eating issues.

Working on my SMART goals for my eating/food issues is to what I’m most looking forward. Having set out Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic (or Relevant), and Time Bound goals has given me a great road map. All my SMART goals are behavioral. No I want to lose this much by such and such a date. I’m actually already working on one goal and am feeling great about the progress. Only 9 more days to see that goal through!