No Support ... need advice

Healthier_Hannah
on 5/1/15 6:26 am

Hello, I'm new to this support site and first I want to thank you in advance for reading this and trying to help. I am just coming to terms with the fact that I am morbidly obese. I have always tried to see myself as smaller then I was and after many different types of diets I decided to look into weight loss surgery as a tool to jumpstart me back to where I need to be to live a healthy life. However I decided not to tell anyone I was doing this. I went to my first appointment Wednesday and left feeling super positive knowing that I was making a change in my life and was in good hands. I am scheduled for VSG in Sept. But as soon as I got in my car the dread started... I had to talk to my Mother and Husband since they are usually my biggest supporters. My mother is my very best friend and herself is morbidly obese (350lbs) but has always talked about weight loss surgery as though it was " the easy way out" and for people who are "lazy", while she goes "vegan" and basically starves herself into losing 50 or 60 pounds just to gain it right back. My husband is however is in some ways totally opposite. He is 6'2 and only 145 lbs and genuinely says he loves me just the way I am and doesn't want me to lose weight.

So I told my mother first... and Of course she was not happy....she ranted and raved about how I need to try harder and" its surgery you could die and leave your 2 beautiful babies without a mother.". I know she says all this because she really does care but I don't think she understands how hard I have tried and how unhappy I am like this.

I still haven't gotten the courage to talk to my husband yet. I feel like something is wrong with me. I was so excited knowing I could do this and for once do something solely "for me" but now I am really struggling to tell him.

Does anyone have any advise about how I go about telling my husband? Should I forget the surgery since I don't have a lot of support?