Worried that I can't do it

(deactivated member)
on 3/16/15 5:48 am
with

I've been stalking the forums for a few months now and decided to join today.  Actually a combination of reading other's success stories here along with a few youtubers and instagramers that I follow; I decided that this will be the year that I have the VSG surgery.  I have been to 5 WLS consultations over the last 8 years.  I told myself last January 2014 that I would give myself a year to do it on my own.  After a mix of extreme dieting as well as some healthy lifestyle changes I crashed around Oct. 2014 and found that I was at my highest weight yet.  My year of doing it on my own resulted in 40 lb weight gain!  This is also of course after 3 failed Weigh****chers attempts and countless others.  I went to a consultation this January 2015 for WLS.  I found out that I have to do a 3 month monitored diet.  (this is not what my BCBS of Illinois requires, just what the particular surgeon I'm going to requires).  I was ready the night of my consultation to have surgery, in fact if the surgeon said he had a cancellation that night I would have done it.  I thought I knew everything I needed to know after months of research.  Now that I am seeing the dietitian I'm second guessing everything.  My goals 3 months PRE-OP are to have no liquids 30 mins before or after eating, eat protein first at every meal, get in an hour of exercise 4 days a week, give up pop, eat small bites and chew to applesauce consistency.  I feel like a failure and if I can't meet these goals now how am I going to do it after surgery!?  Honestly if I don't meet these goals pre-op will I fail post-op?  Also I have all the other requirements for surgery met (Psych eval and PCP recommendation, also did EKG, bloodwork, ultrasound and barium test).

ipray
on 3/16/15 9:47 am
VSG on 11/06/14