weight restriction postoperative

Journey2be
on 2/22/15 10:04 am

It didn't really occur to me til the other day bit now I'm very concerned. I have a 25lb almost 2yr old and my surgery is next week. What is the weight restriction the Dr's gave you and for how long? I've heard 6wks, but that's just not an option for me, I need to be able to pick my baby up out of her crib and my husband works long hours and won't be much help. My 8 yr old can help me when he's home but I'm on my own while he's in school. I'll be off work 4-5wks. Also how long did you all take off work. I'm a nurse so I fairly physically strenuous so that's why I'm told I'll need that long. 

Valerie G.
on 2/22/15 10:43 am - Northwest Mountains, GA

Nothing more than 8 lbs for 8 weeks.  Breaking this rule can give you a hernia, which will require another surgery.  You may want to consider transitioning the baby to a toddler bed before you have surgery.  I would also recommend some help at home for the first couple of weeks with the baby.

Valerie
DS 2005

There is room on this earth for all of God's creatures..
next to the mashed potatoes

Journey2be
on 2/22/15 10:48 am

Oh crap! How did I not think of this till now! Thanks for the reply. 

PrayMore
on 2/22/15 11:12 am

My doctor repeated time and time again that I shouldn't lift anything that required me to 'bear down' for 8 weeks. He said this more than he said anything to me! And I took that even as a large bottle of laundry detergent or a case of water. So, definitely, your 25 lb. toddler will pose a challenge. Maybe you can put the stroller in the house and stay on one floor when no one is home to help you! I wish you the best!!!

5'6", VSG on Dec. 2

pineview01
on 2/22/15 11:24 am - Davison, MI

Mine was 10 pounds for 6/8 week.

BAND REMOVED 9-4-12-fought insurance to get sleeve and won! Sleeved 1/22/13! Five years out and trying to get that last 15 pounds back off.

Sasny
on 2/22/15 12:28 pm
VSG on 03/20/12