Just a thought

TexasPrincess08
on 2/20/15 9:32 am
VSG on 09/15/14

I am currently at work and had a thought. I am a hostess at a restaurant and I see a lot of people. Have you ever seen somebody who was so overweight you wanted to share your wisdom of life after weight loss surgery? I did tonight I really wish people would consider it and I wi**** didn't get such a bad rep. I didnt share my wisdom, but I wanted to. I got an awesome compliment from a guest this evening that made my night. She told me I looked like a movie star! I truly feel like the person I'm becoming is the person who has been hiding from me! Loll be sure to post a pic of my look tonight!

Kiwideb
on 2/20/15 10:13 am
VSG on 01/19/15

I'm new to it all, and I'm very open with what I've done, but I could see it not being taken well (not that it was intended as anything but good intent).

My main reason to say that is it could be taken as you feeling they were 'not good enough' - a feeling we have all seen and felt on any number of occasions. (thats not saying you feel that towards the person, btw). I think is finding that fine line between testifying and preaching.

Not every over weight person feels badly about themselves, and for some, it is all they see. I'm think I'll take the route of in conversation with someone they express interest, I will happily let them know.

Sandy M.
on 2/20/15 11:16 am - Detroit Lakes, MN
Revision on 05/08/13

My advice?  Wait for them to ask.  If someone asks how I did it, I'm honest about the surgery, but don't pu**** on anyone.  You'll find out that some people might come back to you months later with more questions.  I usually refer them here to Obesity Help so that they can get a sense of the struggles from multiple people.

Height 5'4"  HW:223 Lap band 2006, revised to Sleeve 5/8/2013, SW:196

TexasPrincess08
on 2/20/15 11:59 am
VSG on 09/15/14