Family unsupportive

shajoh
on 1/29/13 12:32 am - Cleburne, TX
VSG on 11/27/12
My husband tipped the scale @ 275 @ 5'9". Diabetes for 2 years, hypertension for about 5 years & high cholesterol for about 10 years. 3 doctors had to talk him into surgery.
I on the other hand weighed 199 at my heaviest @ 5'1". I weighed 190 when I saw the surgeon. I barely made BMI at 36. I've had diabetes for 5 years, hypertension for 20+ years, & high cholesterol for 5 years. I have a long family history of heart disease. I've wanted this surgery for 5 years. I have an Aunt who is morbidly obese. She was supportive of the surgery until talking to my mom. My mom has been very unsupportive. She's overweight but not obese. She's lost the same 20 lbs. for as long as I can remember. Everyone is super supportive of my husband's surgery. Now my mom hardly talks to me. My dad was having TIA's at Christmas. Since I'm a nurse I was going to come home. I wasn't going to because I was less than a month since my surgery. My mom didn't want me coming. She said it was too hard on her to fix my meals & she didn't want to eat just soup. Well I'm 52 y/o & more than capable of taking care of myself. I could eat more than just soup. She also made a comment one time after I had lost 20 lbs. about "I've lost 20 lbs. & I didn't have surgery."
I realize I wasn't as heavy as most people who have WLS but I wanted a more permanent solution & wanted to be healthy. I've seen my dad suffer since he was 40 with heart disease. Both of my grandad's died from heart disease. I want something better for myself. I'm happy with my decision. I just wish my family were happy with it.
Ok my rants over. I'll get off my soap box & end the pity party.

Sharla

jenn227
on 1/29/13 12:45 am - NJ
VSG on 03/26/13