Now I want to talk about Jo's post - skewed expectations.

Julia HasHerLifeNow
on 11/10/11 3:48 am
VSG on 10/09/12
My appointment at the University hospital bariatrics service is on the 29 th, there is no need for insurance approval as I automatically qualify, one of the world's best is coming to do my surgery and show his technique to a bunch of surgeons, on me.... All that is left is to do the pre op tests and labs and set a date, probably early January....and for me to learn to manage expectations effectively. My decision IS made and I am also a researcher and did my homework, contacted the best surgeon, convinced him to operate on me in another country and, well, I am pretty sure I will be successful. I do already eat right - a lot, but right! I have no self esteem issues. I have a great family. Fabulous job, great life... So I want it to be long. Size 4 jeans will be nice but I am really OK in my size 18 now too. I like myself just fine so I am not taking any of these issues into the operating room with me. I love food and hope to continue to love it in smaller quantities after the sleeve is done. I hope the pain factor and discomfort will be short lived. And most of all I want to regain control of my body which I lost somewhere along the way.
Tell me more about your journeys. It really helps! I am glad I found this site before surgery. Going in with eyes wide open!!!
Ms Shell
on 11/10/11 4:05 am - Hawthorne, CA
Feel free to read about my and my journey on my profile.  I'm pretty open and transparent about my life, my struggles, etc.

"WLS is only for people who are ready to move past the "diet" mentality" ~Alison Brown
"WLS is not a Do-Over (repeat same mistakes = get a similar outcome.)  It is a Do-BETTER (make lifestyle changes you can continue forever.)" ~ Michele Vicara aka Eggface

emelar
on 11/10/11 4:19 am - TX