VBG to RNY weight loss question

loribaker271
on 3/29/06 12:45 am - Van Alstyne, TX
What kind of test did you have done to find out that your staples had ruptured?Did he send you to a nutrioinist with a rwo week food journal? The only test he has done was the barium swallow test and the nurse said it was fine. Does this mean there is no staple line rupture? I just know something is not right because I can eat anything and I don't get sick.
(deactivated member)
on 3/29/06 8:29 am - Plano, TX
He did the barium swallow test, and it was very apparent that the barium went through the staple line. I could see it myself on the screen. I'm not a doctor, but it didn't take a technician to see that it wasn't going through the pouch and through the band. It went right through the staple line. The technician pointed it out, but I could tell before he even said anything; it was that obvious. He didn't send me to a nutritionist, but instead sent me to have psychiatric therapy to rule out a possible eating disorder. Dr. Hamn felt that I must have thrown up too much and caused it to rupture. But I can honestly say (and my husband is my witness) that I rarely threw up. There were a couple of occasions when I did, but it was because I had eaten some very dry tuna and chicken. I thought I had chewed it good enough, but it got stuck and I had to either throw up or pass out from the pain. Nonetheless, Dr. Hamn said that because this is a very complicated surgery, he couldn't just do it unless I could prove to him that I was serious about it and would follow the rules (understandably). I saw Dr. Melvin Whitehurst for three visits and re-took the 567-question evaluation. I also took a couple of other evaluations that had to do with eating patterns and such. I highly recommend this therapist to anybody. He's wonderful! He ruled out an emotional eating disorder and said that I just needed to make a few lifestyle changes. I'm going back to see him after my revision to work on that. I am look