RNY to RNY revision

carrie95376
on 7/14/20 2:32 am - tracy, CA

Hi Amy- Im wondering if the dr or insurance gave you ahard time to get the revision. Im embarrased that I got back up close to my beginning weight after 12 years but would like to look into a revision.

Dove
on 7/14/20 4:58 am - Renton, wa

Hi Carrie -

My Doctor is very understanding and has seen me battle and seen the stressors in my life. Also, she's an ARNP (Registered Nurse Practitioner) instead of an MD, and I've found overall that female ARNPs are a lot nicer. Insurance isn't giving me a hard time other than making me prove myself for 6 months. I have to see my doc 6 times, a dietician 12 times, lose 5% of my weight, get a psychiatric evaluation, etc.

LIvebold
on 7/15/20 10:35 am - NC

Hi Dove,

I am new to this blog and am considering revision. I had an RNY in 2000. Do you know what type of revision your surgeon is recommending? I am curious about options, but when I went in had a consult with a bariatric surgeon in my area, she wanted me to go on a diet!!! I did this surgery 20 years ago to stop the failures of dieting and I'm not going to start up again. I already feel bad enough about putting the weight back on, which still mystifies me.

Anyhow, looking at seeing a different surgeon and thought I would get personal experiences about revision as well as researching the different options.

Thanks for listening and sharing any information you are comfortable with sharing!

Bernadette

White Dove
on 8/11/20 7:14 am - Warren, OH

The truth about revisions is that they are remarkably unsuccessful. The average weight loss with revision is 20 pounds and that is from the liquid diet before and after surgery. The only way to lose weight is by taking in less calories than you burn.