why did you decide on revision sx?

bashful274
on 12/29/09 9:55 am - Perkasie, PA
Hi everyone,

I guess Im a newbie to these boards again seeing as how its been 6 years since Ive been here. I will hit my 6 yr anniversary in Feb. of my GB surgery and have gained back all my weight and then some. I never achieved my goal but got to a weight where I was content.
I cant eat anywhere near as much as I could but I went through a really bad relationship/breakup and old habits snuck back in. Ive gone back to basics, but it leaves me feeling hungry all the time so Im sure my pouch has stretched.

So my questions being with- why did you/are you having revision surgery? was it difficult to qualify for it? Are you glad you did it? Any suggestions as far as looking into it? Did you get any bad responses from loved ones when you told them what you were doing?

Im just starting my journey with this idea right now, so any and all information is appreciated.

Thank you!! 

Sarah
CHYNADOLL2603
on 12/29/09 12:13 pm - NY
Hi Sarah,

I too had GB about 6 years ago and am considering a revision.  I havent gained too much back and I am so afraid of gaining it all back. I had to go back on the blood pressure medicine and recently got the prescription strength increased (not happy)  I was considering getting the Lap Band because it can be continuously adjusted but after reading some of the forums it doesnt seem like that is an good option for GB revisions. Hopefully we can share information.

Thanks and Good Luck
Chyna

(deactivated member)
on 12/29/09 9:02 pm - Bayonne, NJ
I had RNY in 2003. The doctor added in a permanent ring on the stoma to prevent over eating. For me, it caused real problems, since I couldn't keep down anything dense and threw everything up.  I wound up eating carbs and starting serious regain - went from 175 up to 220. I went becaues of the esophageal erosion. I'm looking forward to eating real food without vomiting.

Zee Starrlite
on 12/30/09 5:48 am