After DS...The Grehlin Hormone Question????

JROLFSON
on 4/8/09 3:51 am - St. George, UT
My topic is this:  Grehlin Hormone.....I'm not sure how this works??? But, I've heard after revising to DS, or just receiving a DS, and shame on me I don't know more about this, as of yet...How is your body or stomach affected by less Grehlin...Is the Grehlin Factor for real, or is it not fully proven? How does it work?

Dr. Husted are you out there? This might be a good question for you....as well as any others who want to fill us in....

Thank you,

Janie
PekinSal
on 4/8/09 4:36 am - UK

From reading on here (no, I'm not a scientist!) ghrelin is a hormone that your body produces that makes you feel the sensation of being hungry. I think there was some experiment where they gave it to mice and they ate and ate and ate...

Anyway, the hormone is produced by stomach tissue, so DSers and VSGers who have the majority of their stomachs physically removed by the surgery are left with less hormone producing tissue in their bodies. RNYers keep their stomach tissue (although most of it is redundant) so don't get this benefit.

I hardly ever feel rumbly-hungry now - possibly first thing in the morning, but that's it. So if your body was giving you signals of being hungry all the time and making you eat, getting rid of the grehlin might help.

Oddest thing about the DS though is it changed how I taste things - sweet things aren't as attractive anymore. I have no idea how that works...

DS revision from failed lapband

JROLFSON
on 4/8/09 8:38 am - St. George, UT
Thank you for your input Sal...It's the DS'ers that would know this stuff, especially how each of you feels regarding the hunger pre or post surgery.

Janie
susang
on 4/8/09 8:31 am - CA
 Hi Janie,