VBG TO LAP BAND YES ITS POSSIBLE

Nurse343
on 6/11/08 10:49 am - Colorado Springs, CO

On 5/5/08 my Dr gave me the most wonderful gift a revision.  I had a VBG in 1995 and lost from 280 to 140, over the years I gained back 100lbs.  After going through many doctors and no one whould touch me due to poss scar tissue i stumbled upon DR Metz in Denver.  I was very afraid to have RNY I am a nurse and have seen a few people with vit and mineral diffciency some of them with significant hair loss.  Needles to say I was afraid.  After an upper GI and a lot of talking with his partner they were going to try and band the upper part of my stomach where the pouch stretched and he said we are gonna try it laproscopic!   So I went to sleep not knowing if I would wake up with an open and a rny or a laproscopic lap band.  Thank heavens after an hour of reducing scar tissue he found my stomach.   He said when he saw it he had a feeling of relief  he thought " I can get that band on"..  Don't get me wrong it was a 4 hr lapband and probably as painful as a rny but in the end he did it and I am a banded person.  When I was searching for revision options this was basically told to  me that lap band was out of the question.  I wanted to let people know its not. 

pepsi98
on 6/14/08 2:14 am - Norwich, CT