Revision - Now it's MY fault

Ejohnson0721
on 1/14/08 2:34 pm - Riverdale, IL
Hello all. I am relatively new to OH, however I am already finding the information listed extremely helpful.  I had RNY surgery in 1999 and went from 306 pounds down to 220 pounds.  The weight loss ceased at that point, was maintained for approximately 3 years and has slowly been increasing from year to year.  I have now reached a weight of 256 pounds and I'm completely devestated.  BTC was where I originally had my surgery - now from what I have learned - all the instructions they gave me were incorrect.  I was told that I would never face this situation again, yet here I am... feeling like a failure...feeling like even revisions are pointless.   Anyhow, the point of my raving - I went to see my first dr today for possible revision surgery.  He is suggesting the lap band over the pouch (which I do not want - I prefer the DS).  In speaking with him I was made to feel like the weight gain was my fault and that I force myself to overeat (or eat the wrong foods) because psychologically I cannot deal with eating less.  Now I could probably say that would be a struggle for someone just going through the surgery or being 1 - 2 years post op - but COME ON!!!  It's been 9 years!  This is not a psychological issue.  I am not crazy, nor am I having a hard time dealing with the restrictions of surgery.  I was counting on the restrictions - it's just the restrictions have failed me.   I was wondering if anyone had references for IL doctors that would consider do a revision from RNY to DS and what your experience has been.  I won't limit myself to just IL doctors and am willing to travel to surrounding states if necessary.  Please help.  This is my first go round at this... and it is discouraging already. Thanks for listening. Ebony
darnell239
on 1/14/08 7:52 pm - Columbia, SC