sclerotherapy done today

lololora
on 7/26/07 11:57 am

This is my first time posting.  I am from michigan and went to Dr. Baker in Grand Rapids to have my stoma repaired today.  I am over six years out and the size of my stoma was a 17/18.  It should be between 12-15.  I hope it works.  Sometimes people have to go back two or three times.  I have Priority Health and I was told they will pay.  We will see.   After they took me back to the surgery room it only took about 30 min for the doctor to look and fix my stoma.  I've been very tired today.  The first four hours I really didn't feel good.  I just wanted to sleep.  It has now been twelve hours and I am up and moving around.  I'm not feeling to bad.  Tomorrow should be ok.  If I don't take pain meds I can drive.  I have gained about 40lbs back from my lowest weight.  I hope to take off 20lbs.  That would be a very good weight for me.  I will keep everyone posted, good or bad.  Best wishes, Lora.

sandyfeets
on 7/26/07 1:50 pm - Jacksonville, FL
RNY on 12/20/05 with
I had mine done a month ago. It was easy and fairly pain-free. Amazingly--my insurance covered all but the 20% co-pay. I was surprised to say the least--and PLEASED. You might find that the first few days of eating is like "right after surgery." I was told to stick to liquids and soft foods for about 2 weeks. Good luck

Amyiable
on 7/26/07 3:17 pm
Could someone explain why the liquids after schlerotherapy or stomaphyx?  Is it because the liquids won't stretch the pouch as much as solids.  I assume that liquids are easier on the pouch during the healing period.  I just don't know why.  Anyone?  Thanks. Amy
sandyfeets
on 7/26/07 3:57 pm - Jacksonville, FL
RNY on 12/20/05 with