Anyone regret RNY ?

busyredhed
on 2/5/09 2:49 am - Merced, CA

My problems has gotten better. I gained about 30 pounds in the last year and a half. I have been holding steady at my current weight for the last 8 months. I fluctuate a couple pounds up or down. Since gaining some weight, my blood sugar issues have decreased. It still drops, but i Have to be VERY BAD for it to drop. It dropped over superbowl because I snacked on tortilla chips,and then had a hamburger on white bun. Too many carbs., but normally now, I can eat a decent amount of carbs without dropping. I still have to be careful, but if it hadn't have gotten better, the doctor was going to look at reversal. Now, they have changed their minds. I still get tired very easily and have to have  nap everyday, but I am doing better. The surgeon told me that some people need to put a little bit of weight back on because their bodies can get too thin even if they don't look too thin. Good Luck. If you are having too many problems, reversing it is probably a good idea.

Marisol
on 2/5/09 8:35 am - NY, NY
THANKS FOR WRITING BACK. I AM VERY HAPPY TO HEAR THAT YOU ARE BETTER. AS FOR ME I HAVE SEEN 2 DR. BOTH FEEL I MUST REVERSE THE BYPASS. I WILL KEEP YOU UPDATED.
THANKS AGAIN,

MARISOL
Vicki PNW
on 2/5/09 4:03 am

I am a virgin DSer and am glad that I didn't have the lap-band or the RNY.

One of the reasons I chose the DS is that my primary insurance covers DS but not the VSG.  Also, I wanted a fully-functioning stomach with the pylorus valve intact and to be able to eat like a non-WLSer and not have to worry about dumping, puking, or getting the foamies.  Plus, I wanted to be able to take meds like a non-WLSer.