25 Years Living Life . . .

Laureen S.
on 7/19/12 11:58 pm, edited 7/20/12 12:40 am - Maple Shade, NJ
25 years ago today, I surrendered to something I had been fighting to accept for over six months! I admitted, first to myself, and secondly to a group of people, who like me had reached that jumping off point, that place that had become a living hell, and I turned myself over to the belief that if they could do what they were doing, I dared hope that I could follow in their footsteps and so I started a journey that has given new meaning to my life and changed me in ways I didn’t even imagine back then. . . 

I am proud to say, that, today, I am a member in good standing of Alcoholics Anonymous and that one day at a time, for 9133 days, I have not found any good reason to take a drink, nor any drug that was not prescribed to me, personally, and used in the manner it was prescribed, in order to change my mood! 

It has not always been easy and there were days I seriously contemplated and romanced the idea of what it would be like to have one of those fancy martini’s, flavored vodka or beers that have come about in the past 25 years, but I sat in many meetings where people forgot just how desperate they were when they walked through the doors of whatever 12 Step program they were in and found themselves unable to get sober or clean again, sadly, some died of their disease and several found it easier to end their lives. When I moved to a new place, in a new state, I lost my way, stopped making meetings and over the course of two plus years without making a meeting, felt like death was an option and while I was angry at my God, I realized over time, that I still prayed nightly for him to relieve me of the life he had gifted me with. The realities of addiction are these, jails, institutions and death.