Hoping to have surgery-questions

ete77
on 4/10/11 12:39 am - Pittsburgh, PA
OK, I am just beginning my WLS journey and I am nervous while waiting to hear from the surgeon.  (I have faxed in my paperwork to Anita Courcoulas at Magee, UPMC)  Here are my thoughts/fears
1. My BMI is 54 and she'll say thats too high to do lap-band
2. She won't do the surgery because I am on a low dose (20mg) of antidepressant
3.  There will be some other reason that I cannot think of why she can't do the surgery. lol

Did anyone here have Anita Courcoulas?  Anyone have any thoughts on these fears being valid or not valid?

Ete 

Setting goals is the first step in turning the invisible into the visible.
Tony Robbins

jdruski
on 4/10/11 5:03 am, edited 4/10/11 5:04 am - Philadelphia, PA
ete,

You BMI being 54 will not be the factor for lap-band.  I was 69 and they had planned on lap-band up until the last minute when there was a problem and they had to go open.  I had no problems with the open.

As long as you tell her about the antidepressants so that the anesthesiologist can adjust your meds accordingly

All kinds of things can happen but that is tomorrow and try not to worry about that.  I was scheduled to have a vena cava filter installed the day before my surgery.  I called the day before only to find out they never scheduled me.  Unfortunately, I had to be in the hospital the next morning at 6AM and wait until there was an opening.  The opening never came until 4 that afternoon.    It was aggrevating but I got through it and so will you.

Take one day at a time.  Listen to what your doc tells you.  You have come to the best forum on OH.  Although the majority of the group are from the East side of PA there is a wealth of information and love on this board.

Best wishes and luck to you in your journey.

Jeanne
ete77
on 4/10/11 8:15 am - Pittsburgh, PA
 Thanks Jeanie,