Quick Question

Maureen F.
on 1/25/11 3:57 am - Essington, PA
Can anyone tell me how long you were out of work? When I went to the informational session they told me like 6-8 weeks and now they are telling me 4 weeks. I am a paramedic and am required to lift and carry at least 150 lbs alone and 300 with a partner. I work in a heavily populated area and can run upto 12 calls in 12 hours with little to no rest. I just want to make sure that I do not hurt myself by going back to soon and I don**** to screw myself up with not having enough time off scheduled and not getting paid. Thanks for all assistance.
HW-309      Surgery Weight - 283     GOAL-160

Happy to be in
Onederland

on 1/25/11 6:12 am, edited 1/25/11 6:13 am
If you are having RNY or DS surgery you will be limited to 8# until cleared by your surgeon.  If you need to lift that much you will be out at least 8 weeks.  This is gut surgery, you don't want to strain yourself that early out. You also will be too tired to work a 12 hour shift in the first few months. You might be able to do part time for a short time until you build your strength back up.

Some days your the dog and some days your the hydrant.

kgoeller
on 1/25/11 6:15 am - Doylestown, PA
Maureen,

I assume you're having the RNY done laparoscopically, rather than open... that makes a huge difference in recovery time.  Given the extreme physical requirements of your job, I would say to err on the side of the 6-8 weeks, to give the muscles time to fully heal, your body time to adjust to its new nutritional intake and requirements, and your organs time to be fully re-operational.  You really don't want to go back to early and end up with a hernia.