Exercise, what is your favorite?

Kate_R
on 12/26/08 8:50 pm - Thompsontown, PA
Hi, I have been trying out different exercise videos and other things trying to keep the weight loss moving the right direction.  I figure if i can find something that is also fun, I will stay motivated.  So far I have tried the Turbo Jam DVDs  Which I kind of like but my concern is sometimes I think they go too fast for me to make sure that I am using correct form.  I have also started using the Core Rhythms DVDs which I like, but I also feel concerned that I am not using correct form.  Perhaps I am being too concerned and should just be happy to be up and moving and getting the heart rate up?

I also have been using the Elliptical machine too, but it seems to stress my knees some.  What does everyone else enjoy doing?

Kate
Pam Hart
on 12/26/08 10:41 pm - Easton, PA
In my many attempts before this surgery to lose weight I used multiple video tapes.  What I learned is when I started learning a new tape or a new exercise form...yes, you NEED to be concerned on form - you could injure yourself otherwise.  That being said - don't worry so much about getting in every single rep or whatever they are doing.  Go at a pace that allows you to learn the form and keep your heart rate up.  So if they do 12 and you do 8-10 so be it. The other option is to slowly go through the tape one day (not to be counted as your exercise) and pause it as needed to do extra reps or whatever to learn that form.

I have just recently gotten exercise tapes and will let you know what I like.  I am trying yoga and pilates for the first time.  I also would like to get some dance aerobics tapes as I always liked them before hand.