I got a date!

KFA3
on 12/1/08 1:55 am - Pittsburgh, PA
So, I got my date(12/22/08) for surgery last Wednesday before Thanksgiving. It seems to have finally hit me now that it's going to happen and I'm freaking out and almost second guessing my decision. I have two main issues of contention that are killing me. The first is that I love to eat. ALOT! I love fine dining, dives, ethnic foods, you name it. Food is such a huge part of my life that I feel as though each meal since then I've been mourning a friend whom I know is about to die. My second greatest concern is that I'm a full time student in Pittsburgh and my surgeon is located outside of Philly. I had to do it this way so my health insurance would fully cover the procedure. So, what if something goes wrong, and I'm back at school? What then?

I know the benefits far outweigh the negatives, but how did any of you all overcome concerns that you had prior to going under the knife?
GD_007
on 12/1/08 2:25 am - Drexel Hill, PA
If you've got Dr.P (looks like you do) You have one of the BEST surgeons in the COUNTRY - period.  Have no worries & good luck!
-GD
ellie443
on 12/1/08 3:09 am - Pittsburgh, PA
Best of luck to  you on your upcoming surgery.

ellen
(deactivated member)
on 12/1/08 3:18 am
I think that we all love food that is why we got ot where we were...You be able to enjoy food just not in volume. You find you will eat to live rather then live to eat and things you will gain out weigh any food taste.

As for being far away Dr. P is available pretty much 24/7 via phone she answers or retruns calls ASAP. You are in great hands with her and she will never fail you.

Good luck...
LadyJwb
on 12/1/08 4:51 am - Philadelphia, PA
Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

deeg
on 12/1/08 7:23 pm - Quakertown, PA