OT I'm just complaining...don't mind me

Pam Hart
on 11/28/08 9:24 am - Easton, PA
So what I thought was weird allergy like things is definately not....definately a cold heading into bronchitis if it keeps traveling south....and I feel like crap.  Have since last night.

Dragged my butt, freezing, to work today.  Got put with a preceptor who I have worked with before who is a jerk.  He knows I'm an experienced nurse and insists upon asking me stupid arse questions like "Do you know how to take a blood pressure without a machine?"  Uh, yea jackass I do.

It was a zoo!  Well actually - from 7-11 we were decent...but then the flood gates opened up.  A little background info...the finance department is pretty strict at work.  Orientees CANNOT have any overtime, and they MUST take their breaks (otherwise they must pay you OT) or leave early.

I kept trying to get to break today - but it just wasn't happening.  I had a sick ICU patient who needed a lot of work...and then a seemingly nothing case which turned into rule out heart attack based on labs....so it was 2:15  My preceptor and I figured it didn't make any sense (seeing as though my two patients had been transported upstairs) for me to take a 1/2 hour break, come back at 2:45 and then attempt to be productive for 15 minutes.  So I tell the charge nurse...we had figured I would just leave at 2:30.  She says no...I have to take my break.  So I didn't argue (although I felt it was a stupid move) and went into the back and took my break.