Introducing... Well, me! (Better late than never I s'pose)

amberstarr
on 11/11/08 11:38 am, edited 11/11/08 11:44 am - Allentown, PA
So, I've been lurking around for a few months, and I wanted to take a minute to say hi and kind of introduce myself....

My name is Amber, and Im 28 years old.  I live in Allentown, Pa with my husband of almost 4 years.

I've been heavy my entire life (I was the cute girl in kindergarten with the pinchable cheeks), but once I graduated high school... well... needless to say my weight is out of control.

I am in my 4th month of the 6 month pre-op program at Lehigh Valley Hospital.  I'm enjoying it so far, but I admit, I'm getting to the point where I am ready for this change!!!

I have an appointment with the surgeon on Dec. 15th, where we will look into setting a date for the big day. 

This is so exciting for me, I can hardly stand it.  There are so many things I want to do, but havent been able to for the last 10 years... ride a rollercoaster, go hiking, DANCE!

Anyway, enough about me for the time being.... 
I just wanted to let you all know that I have been reading your stories and you have all -in your own way -helped me.  It's great to know what you all have gone through, and have at least some idea of what to expect as I start this new phase of my life....

That's all for now....

Night night!
Amber*
GD_007
on 11/11/08 11:51 am - Drexel Hill, PA
Thanks for say "hey".  Looking forward to hearing more from you and your stories as you progress.
Regards,
-GD
Pam Hart
on 11/11/08 1:59 pm - Easton, PA
Amber,

Glad you jumped on in!!  Welcome!!

I am a little over a year post op.  Was originally from jersey just moved to easton last week and have started a job at Lehigh Valley Cedar Crest as an ED RN.

I hope all continues to go well with you!

Pam
Instead of complaining that the rosebush has thorns, be happy that the thorn bush has roses.
(deactivated member)
on 11/11/08 7:06 pm - Poconos, PA
Hi Amber,