Question About Bandages

DianeMarie
on 11/11/08 11:23 am - Delmont, PA
Smileycons!
Tomorrow I will be one week post surgery and starting full liquid (Doing a happy dance).

They really didnt give me much information about my bandages.  I have steri strips ontop of my inscisions and then a gause bandage over that.   They told me that they would fall off in time.
I am allowed to shower and I was told just to turn my back to the spray so it wasnt constantly hitting the dressings.  The first bandage started to come off the second day and it was pulling on the steri strips so I covered that one with a new bandage.  Now the rest of them are starting to come off.  Has enough time passed for me to just let this happen or should I try and recover the steri strips with new bandages?

Diane

Diane Stuffer's Facebook profile
GD_007
on 11/11/08 12:21 pm - Drexel Hill, PA
This is just my opinion - I am not a medical professional.

I say the longer they (the stero-strips) can stay on the better.  I replaced my gause every day after my shower and I immediatley wore the binder/girtle (sp?).  Even when all the sterostrips fell off I'd put on gauze and wear the binder.  I did *not* cover the area where the sterostrips were with a bandade once they fell off - I think I was told that was not a good idea.

One month post-op I still had some stero-strips.
Two months post-op they were all gone.

I think my sterstrips stayed on longer because I shaved my incision area the day before surgery so that Dr. Marymor would have a clean surface to work with.  He did not ask - I was just thinking ahead.  Anyways, my hair started to grow back and I think acted kind of like "velcro" and pierced through the stereostrips and actually held them on longer than normal.  When I used to shower I'd cover my incision area with my hand to reduce the changes of my shower prying them off.  As you know - they are kinda overlaid and if one starts to pry off the bottom one will as well.