Capital Blue Cross approval

lynnc99
on 11/7/08 4:01 am
Hello - I'm new to the OH forums but have lurked off and on for a year.

Last December I had a consult with Dr. Pupkova at Barix. She said I was a good candidate for RNY surgery (100 lbs. to lose, BMI is about 42).

Capital Blue Cross came back and said I needed a 6 month documentation of medically supervised wt loss program.

So - I played by the book and enrolled at a hospital based program. 10 sessions with a dietitcian, 3 dr. visits in that time.

But Barix says that Capital wants not just a letter from my dr. saying that I did this - they want detailed notes. I'm not sure that detailed notes exist from the hospital program, but I have outlined everything we covered in the program, and asked my dr. to include this in his letter.

I have thought of adding other documentation such as sample food logs, sample feedback from the dietician, etc.

Did anyone else have difficulty with an approval from Capital BC? Part of the issue is that at my husband's company they had 3 people have surgery within a fairly short time at a "mill" type place - young girls, no follow ups, etc. Their HR person talked to BC and asked for more stringent screening....and I'm the one caught in the web.

As you know, it's very hard to get to the point of mentally accepting that I am REALLY ready for this. To be caught suspended between "yes I can" and "no you're not approved" is stressful and NOT fun.

However, if I had to, I'd go back to the dietician and go for another 6 months, being sure that detailed notes WERE kept, while seeing my dr. monthly as well. It' shard to imagine, though, being another 6 months out with no real progress or certainty.

Any pointers are very welcome!
Lynn in Lancaster County
Liz R.
on 11/7/08 4:23 am - Easton, PA