I got a job at Macy's!!!

bubble273
on 11/3/08 7:43 am, edited 11/3/08 8:20 am - Levittown, PA
This is pretty funny for me, since I have a full-time job and really shouldn't have to work anywhere else, but times are tough and I need extra money.  Funny thing is that I always hated Macy's...thought it was too uppety and too expensive for me.  But I have found out recently that they offer some pretty good deals.

So I was just looking in the paper today and saw an ad that Macy's was hiring.  I got a shower and got all pretty and went over there and filled out an application.  Then talked to one girl and then the manager of the Better Sportswear & Juniors section.  After talking with the manager she said I would like to offer you the position of a sales associate.  I was like, huh??  I don't have any experience in retail...I've been a pizza cook and a court reporter!!!  So not even much work experience except for my profession. 

My dad said to me, do you think a year ago they would have hired you??  I said probably not.  But a year ago I would have never even attempted to do something like this, because I couldn't stand for more than 5 minutes at a time.  So I'm proud of myself for going and taking the initiative and knowing that I can do this type of work now.  It's only $7.50 an hour.  But if I worked 15 to 20 hours, I could bring home like $400 a month.  So that will work for me.

So if anyone will be shopping at Macy's this holiday season, the one in the Oxford Valley Mall, come check me out on the weekends and maybe a night during the week in the Better Sportswear and Juniors section....LOL!!!

Karen

Melanie B.
on 11/3/08 8:00 am - Doylestown, PA
Congrats! i wish I had the energy for a 2nd job, cuz lord knows I could use the money. However knowing me I'd spend it all on stuff at Macy's.

sbrunell
on 11/3/08 8:32 am - Bensalem, PA
Does this mean we can abuse your employee discount....and do they sell Lucky Jeans?
Steve Brunell
RNY  5/16/08