WINE?

Melanie B.
on 9/12/08 1:12 am - Doylestown, PA
Well I'm a newbie and have every intention of enjoying alcohol again someday, but I am too scared ****1ess to try before I'm at least 6 months out.

However, I must say, alcoholism is a mental illness with a physical manifestation. And since I had my guts rearranged and not my brain I dont see how I would go from being a non-alcoholic to an alcoholic.

I mean if transfer addiction is to be believed (and I'm not saying its not true) then I should never, shop, gamble or have sex after WLS either? Right?

So my non-professional newbie advice would be for you Shannon, i'd wait for a few more months to be sure your body is healed and then when the time comes try sips and see how you do.

As for your GENERAL question about wines, here's what I can tell you;

Dry wines do not have much sugar at all--less than one gram per liter. But sometimes it is hard to make sure you are drinking something really dry. While Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Cabernet, Merlot and other varietal wines usually have very little sugar...a few, like Riesling, White Zinfandel, Chenin Blanc, have a bit of sugar in them. And because the sugar is natural from the grapes, they don't have to list the ingredients on the package.

The same is also true of most whiskeys and cognacs--they are usually dry, although Bourbon and some others are sweeter...and other distilled spirits have varying levels of sweetness from sugar. Most beers also have very low sugar content as well--although some styles will have a bit.

The best thing to do is to talk this over with your physician, because sometimes the alcohol in drinks can work with your body much like sugar does--alcohol does have calories--and it would be really important to understand this before you started drinking any particular drink based only on its sugar content.

I hope that helps...and that it encourages you to make some safe choices.

Shan08
on 9/12/08 1:29 am - the Skook, PA

Thanks Melanie :)