WINE?

Pam Hart
on 9/11/08 11:22 am - Easton, PA
What kind of wine is not a great question for me to answer cause I didn't like wine before surgery and don't like it now, either.  I was more of a "hard" alcohol kind of gal when I drank (like 4 times a year)

Since surgery I have had vodka with crystal lite and seemed to do ok with that while "milking" it over a few hours

I had one martini which I drank pretty quickly - and got super super sick off of it

I had champagne (I know...carbonation...bad) and over indulged in that and got really drunk really quick and had the worst hang over in my life.

I also had a malibu bay breeze (malibu, cranberry, orange juice) and did ok with that - never got buzzed - but again had a major hang over the next day.

Good luck!

Pam
Instead of complaining that the rosebush has thorns, be happy that the thorn bush has roses.
Patricia R.
on 9/11/08 11:25 am - Perry, MI
Hi Shannon,
As a mental health professional, I don't believe I was lecturing, but forgive me if I was.  I was speaking from my own experience, as a recovering alcoholic who had relapsed in December and had a hard time of it for five months.  If I can spare anyone the Hell of alcoholism I have experienced in my relapse, I will gladly take being accused of lecturing.  Alcohol is processed differently in the bypass patients and the reactions to it vary.  I  read almost weekly in the Mental Health Forum a newcomer who had no clue that they could develop alcoholic drinking behaviors, and they are at a loss what to do about it because they can't stop drinking now. 

Maybe it is the Mother in me, or maybe it is the Social Worker in me, but I care too much about you, and everyone else on the PA Forum, to not share my concern when I am asked what I think about drinking after surgery. 

Like we say in AA, "Take what you like, and leave the rest."

Hugs,
Trish