Insurance Change Question

DianeMarie
on 8/30/08 6:23 pm - Delmont, PA

Most of you know that this past Wednesday my husband was permanently laid off and is losing his insurance as of tomorrow.  My HR manager at work is doing the paperwork now for my job to pick up the insurance.  I have all my tests completed and I have a class on the 15th of September and I see my NUT the day after.  My last class is October 6th and they will start to get insurance approval right after that.  I was hoping to have my surgery by the end of October or the beginning of November.  My new insurance coverage will still be Blue Cross / Blue Shield and its a good coverage. 

My question is this.  Will the new policy accept what I've been doing for the past 6 months and allow the surgery once I'm covered or do I have to restart the process so I have the classes done while I'm insured by the new policy?

I'm dreading going through all this over again.

Diane

Diane Stuffer's Facebook profile
Pam Hart
on 8/30/08 9:21 pm, edited 8/30/08 10:39 pm - Easton, PA
It depends on which policy BC BS you had and will have.  I would call them Tuesday morning and ask what their requirements are for WLS under your new policy. 

Considering it is the same company, I certainly do hope that you will have no other hoops to jump through, I can totally empathize with you regarding not wanting to start this all over again!

Pam
Instead of complaining that the rosebush has thorns, be happy that the thorn bush has roses.
Pam Hart
on 8/30/08 9:21 pm - Easton, PA
sbrunell
on 8/31/08 3:38 am - Bensalem, PA
I would ask your HR manager to call. My friend was the HR person at his company, and part of his job was resolving these type of issues.  I would ask them to make a call and find out...you don't have your id yet, so it would be even harder for you to try.

Cry them a river, and they'll do it.. But since it's the same company, the requirements should be the same, provided the new policy will pay for WLS- not all will